Leadership & Civic Engagement

Leadership & Civic Engagement

Community Leadership Program

Purdue Extension’s Community Leadership Program is a locally hosted leadership development course for adults who want to make a difference in their communities. Through this series of 11 interactive modules, participants learn about their own leadership capacity, the people, organizations and institutions that make up their communities and how they can engage in serving their communities more deeply.

In many Indiana counties, the Community Leadership Program is an annual, or every two years, offering that engages many community partners in preparing the next generation of leaders. In some counties, the program meets the requirements for participants to earn an official Purdue Certificate.

Overview

leadershipprogram

Confident, skilled and knowledgeable leaders are needed to inspire, lead and foster dynamic and viable organizations and communities in Indiana. The Purdue Extension Community Leadership Program is a statewide program in Indiana for individuals who want to improve their local communities by getting more involved in local nonprofit boards, government committees and other volunteer efforts. While there are many individuals in a community who are willing to give their time and talents to serve the needs of others, sometimes they lack the connections, skills or confidence to take on leadership roles. This program helps prepare them.

Purdue Extension’s Community Leadership Program is an 11-module leadership development training program hosted by county Extension Educators, facilitated by trained Purdue Extension staff and built on research-based curriculum. The program can complement existing community leadership development efforts in Indiana or foster new leadership development in communities where no programming currently exists.

Program Sessions:

  • Getting to Know My County
  • Identifying My Leadership Style
  • Leading through Interpersonal Communication
  • Exploring Diversity in My County
  • Managing Conflict
  • Getting Involved in My Community
  • Serving on Nonprofit Boards
  • Exploring Economic Development in My County
  • Exploring Education in My County
  • Learning How County Government Works
  • Building a Healthy Community

Team

Contact an Extension Educator in your county to learn more about your local Community Leadership Development program.

County Name Email Phone
Brown County Tayna Hall Tjhall@purdue.edu 812-723-7107
Cass County Krista Pullen kristapullen@purdue.edu 574-753-7750
Daviess County Cindy Barber cabarber@purdue.edu 812-254-1060 ext. 279
Fulton County Mark Kepler mkepler@purdue.edu 574-223-3397
Huntington County Karen Hinshaw kdhinsha@purdue.edu 260-358-4826
Jasper County Alice Smith smit1357@purdue.edu 219-866-5741
Newton County Danielle Sands dsands@purdue.edu 219-285-8620
Orange County Tanya Hall Tjhall@purdue.edu 812-723-7107
Pike County Cindy Barber Cabarber@purdue.edu 812-254-1060 ext. 279
Putnam County Lori Bouslog lbouslog@purdue.edu 812-268-4332
Tipton County Terri Newcom tnewcom@purdue.edu 765-675-2694
Valparaiso (City) Patty Keating pkeating@purdue.edu 219-465-3555
Vermillion County Lori Bouslog lbouslog@purdue.edu 800-340-8155
Vigo County Kristi Whitacre kwhitacr@purdue.edu 812-462-3371
White County Andrew Westfall Awestfal@purdue.edu 219-984-5115

Contact

To learn more about Purdue Extension’s Community Leadership Development Program, contact:

Kris Parker

Kris Parker

Community Development Regional Educator

parkerkj@purdue.edu
219-386-5232