Leadership & Civic Engagement

Leadership & Civic Engagement

Community Leadership Program

Purdue Extension’s Community Leadership Program is a locally hosted leadership development course for adults who want to make a difference in their communities. Through this series of 11 interactive modules, participants learn about their own leadership capacity, the people, organizations and institutions that make up their communities and how they can engage in serving their communities more deeply.

In many Indiana counties, the new Community Leadership Program is developing into an annual offering that engages many community partners in preparing the next generation of leaders. Participants completing all the course requirements receive an official Purdue Certificate.

Overview

leadershipprogram

The Purdue Extension Community Leadership Program is a statewide program in Indiana for people who want to make a difference in their communities. There are many individuals who are willing to give their time and talents to serve the needs of others. However, it is often difficult to find individuals who are willing to step up to the plate to serve in leadership roles. Confident, skilled and knowledgeable leaders are needed to inspire, lead and build dynamic and viable organizations and communities.

Purdue Extension saw an opportunity to increase the capacity of existing and emerging leaders through an 11-module leadership development training program hosted by county Extension Educators, facilitated by trained Purdue Extension staff and built on research-based curriculum taught via online videos. The program complements the existing community leadership programs in Indiana and is intended to foster new leadership development programs in communities where none exist.

Program Sessions:

  • Getting to Know My County
  • Identifying My Leadership Style
  • Leading through Interpersonal Communication
  • Exploring Diversity in My County
  • Managing Conflict
  • Getting Involved in My Community
  • Serving on Nonprofit Boards
  • Exploring Economic Development in My County
  • Exploring Education in My County
  • Learning How County Government Works
  • Building a Healthy Community

Team

Contact an Extension Educator in your county to learn more about your local Community Leadership Development program.

County Name Email Phone
Cass County Krista Pullen kristapullen@purdue.edu 574-753-7750
Daviess County Cindy Barber cabarber@purdue.edu 812-254-1060 ext. 279
Fulton County Mark Kepler mkepler@purdue.edu 574-223-3397
Huntington County Karen Hinshaw kdhinsha@purdue.edu 260-358-4826
Jasper County Alice Smith smit1357@purdue.edu 219-866-5741
Newton County Danielle Sands dsands@purdue.edu 219-285-8620
Pulaski County Kris Parker parkerkj@purdue.edu 219-386-5232
Putnam County Jennifer Cannon cannon16@purdue.edu 765-653-8411
Sullivan County Lori Bouslog lbouslog@purdue.edu 812-268-4332
Tipton County Terri Newcom tnewcom@purdue.edu 765-675-2694
Valparaiso (City) Patty Keating pkeating@purdue.edu 219-465-3555
Vermillion County Becky Holbert holbert@purdue.edu 800-340-8155
Vigo County Kristi Whitacre kwhitacr@purdue.edu 812-462-3371

Contact

To learn more about Purdue Extension’s Community Leadership Development Program, contact:

Kris Parker

Kris Parker

Community Development Regional Educator

parkerkj@purdue.edu
219-386-5232